…whereas they carried on…

A.

“By all that is logical I should have despised Mark McPherson. I could not. For all of his rough edges, he was the man I should have been, the hero of the story.

The hero, but not the interpreter. That is my omniscient role. As narrator and interpreter, I shall describe scenes which I never saw and record dialogues which I did not hear. For this impudence I offer no excuse. I am an artist, and it is my business to recreate movement precicely as I create mood. I know these people, their voices ring in my ears, and I need only close my eyes and see characteristic gestures. My written dialogue will have more clarity, compactness and essence of character than their spoken lines, for I am able to edit while I write, whereas they carried on their conversations in a loose and pointless fashion with no sense of form or crisis in the building of their scenes. And when I write of myself as a character in the story, I shall endeavor to record my flaws with the same objectivity as if I were no more important than any other figure in this macabrre romance.”

Excerpt from Laura by Vera Caspary

B.

Όταν ο Waldo Lydecker διηγείται το πώς φαντάζεται ότι ο αστυνόμος Μark ΜcPherson έχει σκεφτεί την πρώτη συνάντησή του με την Laura Hunt, φαντάζεται μια τυχαία συνάντηση και έναν κεραυνοβόλο έρωτα όπως αυτός ανάμεσα στον Charles Boyer και την Μargaret Sullavan σε ταινίες όπως το Back Street του ’41 ή το Αppointment for Love της ίδιας χρονιάς υποθέτουμε. Αργότερα μαθαίνουμε πως ο φίκτιοναλ χαρακτήρας της δολοφονηθείσας Diana Redfern, το πραγματικό του φίκτιοναλ χαρακτήρα όνομα είναι Jennie Swobodo, ήταν συντοπίτισσα του φίκτιοναλ Paterson και δούλευε, η Diana/Jennie, εκεί στο New Jersey σε ένα μεταξουργείο. Όταν αναλαμβάνει τη διήγηση ο Mark αναφέρει πως και αυτός είχε την τυπική φαντασίωση να επιστρέψει κάποτε στην παλιά του γειτονιά με τον παγκόσμιο τίτλο στην πυγμαχία και την Hedy Lamarr παραμάσχαλα. Τέλος, η Laura αναλογίζεται πως αφήνει τις πόρτες της ανοιχτές γιατί περισσότερο από τυχόν εισβολείς φοβάται το να κλειστεί κάπου αβοήθητη, και στο μυαλό της έρχεται το χλωμό πρόσωπο της Sylvia Sidney πίσω από της φυλακής τα κάγκελα που είχε κάποτε δει σε μια ταινία (το Ladies of the Big House πιθανότατα). Όλα αυτά στο Laura της Vera Caspary.

Leave a Reply

